Multiwavelength Astronomy Multimedia


NASA’s Great Observatories


Because the Earth's atmosphere prevents certain types of radiation from reaching the ground, NASA proposed a series of Great Observatories designed to conduct space-based astronomical studies over many different wavelengths. The program launched four observatories: the Hubble Space Telescope (visible and near ultraviolet); Compton Gamma Ray Observatory (gamma rays); Chandra X-ray Observatory (soft X-rays); and Spitzer Space Telescope (infrared). Each observatory was designed to push the state of technology in its intended wavelength region.


  • HEAO-1 All-Sky X-ray Catalog
  • Observatory (space-based)





Associated Lesson

X-Ray History

This material is based upon work supported by NASA under Grant Nos. NNX09AD33G and NNX10AE80G issued through the SMD ROSES 2009 Program.

Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this website are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily
reflect the views of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.